Loss

And so I’ve finally misplaced a piece of jewelry. Kathryn Schulz had a good piece in the NYer last week on loss –

Such losses sadden us because they presage larger ones — of autonomy, of intellectual capacity, ultimately of life itself.

I wore a necklace into the shower without thinking, removed it, wrapped it in a piece of kleenex, managed to remember to move the kleenex containing the necklace from the bathroom to my dresser… whereupon it lay forgotten until it morphed from “kleenex wrapped necklace” to “used kleenex” and made its merry way to the bin. T-T I’ve always wondered how people lose their rings gardening etc. and it seems that I have now reached that age.

We attended another chamber music concert (Bolcom’s Serenata Notturna + Schubert’s Octet) and it was fab. The violist switched out inbetween pieces and I totally didn’t notice – just whispered to LZ “hey, she changed her skirt.” (The first violist wore a burgundy velvet skirt and the second one wore a black one) He whispered back to me “the whole person has changed. By extension it is also true that the skirt has changed.” That just goes to show how unobservant I am wrt appearance. On our anniversary dinner at Six Seven I managed to wear my sweater inside out until halfway through the meal when he pointed it out and I bothered to change it (I wouldn’t have done so as an undergrad). There were like TWO tags sticking out :P In my defence it was one of those knits with the same pattern on the outside an on the inside. He calls all sweaters with that diamond pattern my “combinatorics shirts” because our undergrad combinatorics text had a similar diamond pattern on the cover.

The 1st violinist in the ensemble is the current assistant concert mistress of the Seattle Symphony. Both principal and deputy concertmaster seats are empty, and they are hiring. She broke like THREE horse hairs throughout the course of the evening! How hard is she pressing that bow?? The cellist was really cute. I think I just really like cellists. If you presented me a cellist on any Coffee Meets Bagel/Tinder platform I would immediately swipe right. He was this asian guy with a pompadour (tt LZ didn’t like) and I didn’t think he was cute at first but then he would break out in the most adorable grin in the middle of playing because he was really enjoying it (or missed a note?); he was grinning to the second violinist and it was so cute. I wonder if they have a thing going on. He was also really good, not as good as the Rimsky-Korsakov cellist but really on point, had mature expressions, and really shone in his solos. I liked the Octet a lot more than the Serenata, and would post a youtube link here only it was so much better in person than listening on youtube. Also I had an inaccurate memory of performing a Schubert trio in JC with a very pretty, ethereal nachtmusik mvmt (which was why I decided to go for this concert) but it turns out it was Schumann’s Fantaisiestucke Op. 88


(the fourth mvt is really pretty)

The last time I performed seriously (for exams and shit) was a decade ago, so you’ll excuse my faulty memory. While even looking for the name of the fantaisiestucke I came upon an old exam program and had totally no recollection of preparing those pieces :P
1. Poulenc – Trois Pieces: II Hymne
2. Beethoven – Sonata no. 6 in F major
3. Grieg – Violin Sonata in F major

Like I had to look the pieces up on youtube to verify that I did indeed know them and knew how to play them decently at some point in my life :x

Back to the octet, I really enjoyed the quiet movements and that bit where all the strings glided in so smoothly and quietly (the Illsley Ball auditorium has really good reverb). There were a couple of pretty embarrassing moments when the first violin cued in the final movement with an additional, accidental F, and another string bit in unison arpeggios at the end of the first movement when either the first or second vln played a Bb in an F major arpeggio :S – yes, I am that person who picks out mistakes – I don’t want to, they just jump out at me and niggle in my mind for the longest time. But Z liked them better overall than the Rimsky-Korsakov quartet, whose first vlnist he thought was a bit messy and perhaps complacent.

Am looking forward to the next campus club concerts! We also managed to score free parking that evening in downtown Seattle(!!) so the concert was totally free!

Rispondi

