Friday Night Live

We just went to see Jesse Eisenberg at the Broadway Performance Hall in Seattle City College tonight and he was magnificent! The best friday nights we’ve had in Seattle are invariably spent listening to some author talk about his work. The last time I had such a fantastic time was when Neil Gaiman came to town. The atmosphere is so zingy, everyone around you is SO bookish and buzzing with the excitement of hearing choice gobbets from the author himself and getting to ask him intrusive and personal questions and getting his autograph. It is lovely being surrounded by bookworms! And Jesse Eisenberg is one of the funniest authors I’ve ever met. His book reads a little bit like Simon Rich, but faster paced. He read 3 restaurant reviews from Bream gives me hiccups, all of which were wonderful, and he kept laughing at his own jokes which was hilarious :P Like he was reading it for the first time or something, he kept having to pause to giggle; it was awesome. And then he was joined by Sherman Alexie and they had a wonderful conversation and Q&A session about everything under the sun, including how much they love being Jewish and Native American respectively because there are fewer restrictions to things they can say. Eisenberg was saying how he compared something to genocide the other day and never had he been so happy to be Jewish after that.

They also bitched about where they get inspiration for their “evil” characters. Eisenberg said he overheard the following in a pharmacy the other day and never forgot it:
A: *cough*
B: Bless you!
A: (pointedly) It was a cough.

and he was all “Who does that?? Who does that?!?” Alexie’s anecdote was

lol. A member of the audience asked Eisenberg if there were any projects he had worked on halfway and then just abandoned altogether, and he was like, “lots” and threw the question to Alexie:
Alexie: Oh you know, several
Eisenberg: At what point did you decide to abandon them?
Alexie: They were complete novels, actually. But they were terrible.
Eisenberg: Oh, that’s not such a great time to decide to abandon something. Publish it anyway! Grove’ll never be able to tell.
Alexie: (laughs) Oh no no no, it was completely terrible.
Eisenberg: Sell it! Just don’t say that part!
Alexie: One of them was actually called “Disco Inferno” and was filled with Dante-esque references.
Eisenberg: Sell it to me. I’ll publish it
Alexie: Yeah, right, under Eisenberg books
Eisenberg: Eisenberg book. Just the one book. The book cover will be a picture of me naked with a disco ball above my head.
Alexie: OK, I’ll bequeath it to you in my will, you’re still young, you can do anything you like with it after I’m dead.
***

From the Risalum Listserv that recently revived, I just found out that Julie Orringer used to stay in Risley! I LOVE her books. She is a fantastically deep writer with an excellent grasp of human emotion. I think I always kind of knew that she went to Cornell, but I didn’t know she stayed in the same dorm! I haven’t read all their emails (there are a LOT of them, just like the listserv when I stayed in Risley) but the few that I have have been hugely informative about the lovely little castle I used to call home for two years.

Lascia un commento

