Harvey Nichols

This is the best ad I’ve seen in awhile. The music is perfect, the acting, the directing.. Couldn’t have said it better.

In contrast, we watched the Counsellor last night and it was so horrible. I don’t know how it could have been worse. I suppose they could have chosen a talentless cast to boot. Was Penelope Cruz really necessary for that little side story? There was no real, loving, relationship built between her and Fassbender so naturally nobody felt sorry for Fassbender when her neck got snapped – I don’t even know why whoever it was killed her wanted her killed. The entire thing was just very unmotivated and confusing; I’ve never read anything by Cormac McCarthy so I didn’t know he was actually any good – the lines were so awkward and tortuous. And I think it’s difficult to perceive something to be profound when it’s lisped by Cameron Diaz. It’s like asking a 5 year old to give the Gettysburg Address. At least we watched it on GV Tuesdays when tickets are $2 less than other weekday. I predicted a rotten tomatoes rating of < 50%, maybe around 30% but LZ thought it would be higher on account of its execution. (I was right.) What a flop! I can safely cross that off my list but there was certainly no satisfaction to be had in watching it. Also next time I think a movie is rated Mature 18 for violence, I would do well to not watch it >< The next movie will be the Hobbit since Gillian is giving us free tickets to the Desolation of Smaug for next saturday! Hopefully it’s not as draggy as the first one.

Lascia un commento

