Recipe: Crab noodles

So I just made this amazing crab noodles off the top of my head and need to write it down before I forgot how I did it.
(Serves 4)

Ingredients:
1 pack of Hong Kong Yee Fu noodles (~200g when uncooked)

A knob of ginger the size of your thumb, julienned
3 large cloves of garlic, chopped fine
8 shallots or small purple onions, chopped fine
1 carrot, julienned into matchsticks
1 chinese leek (about 2/3s the size of a normal leek), the white end sliced thinly into discs, the leafy end cut into diamonds
2 mud crabs (about 700-800g in total), steamed alive (for 7 minutes) and meat picked off.

~16 cherry tomatoes, halved
2 bird’s eye chilis, sliced into rings

1 pack of shimeiji/Beech mushrooms (optional, I didn’t add this but can see it being awesomer with)

3 strips of bacon, chopped up

Seasoning:
Oyster Sauce
Light soy sauce
Hua tiao jiu/shao xing wine
Salt
Sugar
White pepper

Garnish:
Bonito flakes

1) Boil a pot of water. When the water comes to a boil, dump the dry noodles in and boil for 2.5 minutes. Drain and keep aside.
2) Dry fry the bacon in a large wok (everything will go into this wok) on medium high heat until its fat is rendered
3) Push the bacon to the sides of the wok and add a lug of corn/vegetable oil (about 4 tbsp)
4) Pour the chopped shallots and garlic into the well of oil and fry. Add 1/2 tsp sugar, and a pinch of salt. Fry for about 3 minutes.
5) When the shallots have softened, add the julienned ginger, the bird’s eye chili, and another 1/2 tsp sugar. Fry until fragrant (another 2 minutes). The shallots and garlic should look a little charred on the edges.
6) Add 4 tbsp of oil (yes, again) and add the leeks and carrots to the wok. Mix everything together.
7) Add a lug of soy sauce (~3 tbsp), a large dash of white pepper, and about 3 globs of oyster sauce. Stir. The mixture should be quite wet.
8) Add a lug of shao xing wine (~4 tbsp), but not too much as to make the whole thing taste of shao xing wine. Stir till the wine has reduced a little (1 minute).
9) Add the cherry tomatoes, noodles and then the crab meat. Add a lug of soy sauce on top of the crab meat, and another 5-6 globs of oyster sauce on the noodles. Mix well with chopsticks.
10) When the vegetables and crab meat are homogenous through the noodles, plate the noodles and serve with a generous bunch of bonito flakes. If the bonito is served on the noodles while they’re hot, it will start waving very picturesquely (which is what we’re aiming for).

Eat with chopsticks for best results. (see, I can be Jamie Oliver too. Although this recipe is about 100x more work than his recipes as we spent all of friday night picking crab meat out of the crab)

Total time taken (including washing and chopping the vegetables) was slightly < 1 hr but then I had my trusty sous chef with me (who helped to wash some vegetables and also to peel the ginger). Note: the recipe is slightly spicy because of the bird's eye chilis. If you would like it less spicy, use less chili, or use regular sze chuan chilis instead of bird's eye chilis.

Photos up separately. Man it was awesome. Too bad there were no seconds! (this recipe is exactly tailored to serve 4 people) I seldom do things off the cuff without a recipe – the only reason I was intending to cook chinese-y crab noodles this weekend was because I volunteered to cook lunch for my grandma today and thought it would be nice to give her a treat – crab! And she's old and not really used to 'western' cooking (like pasta, shepherd's pie, etc.) which was why I decided to cook something chinese (and hence without a recipe). But when I got home on friday night and told my dad of my plans he said she couldn't eat crab because of a recent cataract operation – they'd make her eye itch! But I had already bought two live crabs, it's not like I could set them free in the middle of our concrete jungle. So the noodles were made for dinner, and I made some mushroom and leek tagliatelle for her lunch instead (she only likes noodles on account of not having any teeth) My grandparents seldom try my cooking (and in fact know very little about me, compared to liangze's grandparents, because I don't speak their dialects).

And here it is:

Lascia un commento

