Oscar

I never approve, or disapprove, of anything now. It is an absurd attitude to take towards life. We are not sent into the world to air our moral prejudices. I never take any notice of what common people say, and I never interfere with what charming people do.

I think I never dislike people without reason. You know, the kind of dislikes that are the 看你不顺眼 kind. Most dislikes stem from something, and somethings are more irrational than others. But the people that I know I dislike because of irrational prejudices can easily overturn my prejudice by doing/saying something contrary to what I have assumed of their character. This happened today, and I feel much kindlier toward a certain person simply because of some increased interaction.

The kind of people I usually turn away from are the slightly stupid-sounding ones. But I do admire guilelessness, which some of these simple-sounding people possess in truckloads. It’s like how the ragamuffins who tried to take our money in Cusco only sought to earn 1 sole (literally 30 cents) (kind of like buying a tissue pack in singapore) and were generally clueless about how much tourists might be willing to pay for a photo whereas the people who tried to take our money in Italy/France were scammers who asked for huge amounts at no cost to them. They were more street-smart to some degree but with that came greed and deceit.

I think Wilde has got it right. I form my prejudices of people far too early and to the detriment of my own happiness. Silly, silly me.

Lascia un commento

