Summertime

It’s been really warm around Ithaca lately, i.e. shorts and shirt weather. i bunked off all my classes today except fly fishing because i watched two movies back to back last night until like 6am in the morning and couldn’t wake up er.. the same morning. Otaku mode is coming on early. I blame it on the not having any entertainment at all for the past three months. Okay that is a lie, but I really haven’t watched much since coming back to Ithaca and catching the Secret life of Arietty with hr and michelle at the mall.

It is basically a Ryan Reynolds phase. I used to think he was kind of a douche but am coming around to his charms. I watched

and

He makes a really legit fat guy!! I wonder if he was fat before. The change up isn’t anything original, but it had this really great quote:

“Before heading to the market always ask Jamie if she needs anything first- in fact before ANY decision in your life, no matter how small, call your wife first. Think of yourself as a brain-damaged mule, lost in a desert, helpless, dumb, and in constant need of direction. Never take the initiative, never strike out on your own, and never deviate from the plan. Why? Because you’re a brain-damaged mule and you’re lost in the damn desert!”

I think all guys would do well to heed this advice.

Things I love about these summery days:
1. eating rainbow sherbet out of a gallon sized tub. If you’ve never had rainbow sherbet on a sticky summer day, you’re missing the entire point of your overseas education.
2. fly-casting out in the field with both the wind and the sun in perfect amounts.
3. getting sent to and picked up from my phys ed class by liangze. it reminds me of when i was 4-5 and my dad would drive me and my brother to yamaha for piano and art and calligraphy lessons. Learning completely non-essential things for character building and being ferried around like I’m a child again is wonderful.
4. my fly fishing instructor has been really, really encouraging about my fly casting. Today he hollered all the way across the field that my fly-casting looked just like the pro in the video! I wonder if he’d take me out on private trips after our class is over in exchange for my cooking our (his) catch for him. Otherwise paying him to guide me on private trips would be like $200 apop. I wish Ed weren’t the only professor seeing the intrinsic value of all the not-for-school stuff I do and I could make similar typeset-notes-for-homework exchanges. Charmaine says her father fishes, and I would love to go with him, but I doubt there’d be fly-fishing type fishing back in singapore.

Lascia un commento

