Poppadoms

4. That the woman was made of a rib out of the side of Adam; not made out of his head to rule over him, nor out of his feet to be trampled upon by him, but out of his side to be equal with him, under his arm to be protected, and near his heart to be beloved.

-Matthew Henry’s Commentary

I think I should have been made out of his skull.
And more and more I’m beginning to realise how we complement each other, and how women as a race complement men in general. It’s not necessary for a woman to be with a man, but it sure makes things more efficient. Things like doing homework, or cooking.. or like taking out the trash or getting the laundry done or declogging my toilet etc. (Cheryl says it’s only my boyfriend who will do all those things but I’m sure that’s not true.) (I would also like to emphasize that I am not bullying him.)

I’m not sure in which respects it is true in my culture but I’m sure it is true. Chris was telling me about the single men she knew in her culture who were doing very poorly keeping house and everything. Her own husband was starving for a time because he didn’t know how to cook when his first wife died. But I know plenty of guys here who can cook pretty well, better than the girls, and who also live pretty neatly. liangze is not one of them, but then he has me. I wonder what a more common ‘lack’ would be in singaporean guys. social graces? the ability to feel or to articulate how they feel?

Today’s revelation: Did you know the dead skin you file off your foot smells just like poppadoms? liangze says it must be all the poppadoms i’ve eaten sedimenting at my feet.

Lascia un commento

