I thought

I thought that I had trodden on a cat
It was but an old kitchen towel
I thought I heard the voices of the sprites
They were but an oft-repeated vowel.

I thought I saw ‘ere lions among lambs
It was but a well-constructed book.
I thought saw the fondness in his eyes
It was but a disinterested look.

I thought I saw us sitting in a boat
Floating down a clearly joyful stream
Three hours – bliss, but oh! I then awoke
And found it was all nothing but a dream.

July 26, 2008

Un pensiero su “I thought

  1. Your last stanza reminds me of Eliot’s

    We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
    By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
    Till human voices wake us, and we drown.

    keep reposting :)

Lascia un commento

