On the road

Today we were sending my ah ma to church and she was very glad to see me! i love my ah mas. She saw my ring and started trying to talk to me in chinese
“你的戒指很美 leh”
*thinking of something coherent to say back*
“你拿去吧。”
*she grabs it and puts it on her finger*
”从哪里买的,美国啊。很美 leh。“
“给你啦。”
“不用啦…我只是问问而以。“
”拿去吧…我在家里有很多。“
that’s how my totally hip ah ma became the proud possesser of some teenage promise ring from the ah-girl. obviously none of my grandparents can pronounce my name. if ‘dorcas’ can get mangled into ‘locker’, can you imagine what they’d do to ‘ivana’? zheng yuan’s parents call me ‘iwana’.. and then i realised there is no vee sound in the chinese language! how weird is that?

Lascia un commento

