A good fishing day

The worms were all dead on the ground
Save those that the earth is walling
To unravel them one by one
And let them go trawling and crawling
Out over the dismal road
Into deep sleep they are falling.

yes, so i murdered Frost, but it’s a fitting parallel to how many earthworms were killed last night. it was complete carnage – when i walked through the arts quad to get to the bell tower today it was like a graveyard, with oodles of earthworms sprawled out, crushed on the pavement, inside out.
Nobody cares, but it is a good fishing day.
[random fact: you do not need worms for fly fishing.]

The morning concert today was nothing short of a disaster. I missed several notes in the morning rag because I started too fast and got increasingly tired through the piece. Several bells also refused to sound because I did not adjust them sufficiently – the D and the B both needed more strength to be depressed than the other bells, so some notes sort of stuck out. I have reached a plateau in my performance, and it’s not a good place to be stuck at, because it is not my optimum yet. My dynamic range leaves much to be desired, and my phrasing is non-existent. The judged concerts start next week, and there is little I can do about it. If it is not meant to be, I guess it is not meant to be.

I played Your Song, by Elton John this morning. My dad was rather pleased.
I hope you don’t mind
I hope you don’t mind
That I put down in words:
How wonderful life is, when you’re in the world…

Lascia un commento

